The Team

The New Zealand Heartland XV, formerly known as the New Zealand Divisional XV, was established in 1988 to expose players from Divisions Two and Three in the Air New Zealand NPC to rugby at a higher level. In 2006, Heartland Championship replaced the former Air New Zealand NPC Divisions Two and Three, and the competition has given more players the chance to push for national honours. The first New Zealand Heartland XV side toured the Pacific Islands in 2005 and they played six games (which they won), including matches against Tonga and Fiji. Since then the team has toured Argentina in 2006 and the United States in 2008, beating the Pacific Coast Grizzlies and a USA Select XV.

The team has been the launching pad of many All Blacks' careers including Carlos Spencer and Justin Marshall. Other players who made appearances for the New Zealand Heartland XV early in their careers include Jeff Wilson, Todd Blackadder, Norm Hewitt, Simon Culhane and Matthew Cooper.

2018 Heartland XV

01.Nov Taupo New Zealand Heartland XV 0 vs 0 Vanua XV
04.Nov Taupo New Zealand Heartland XV 0 vs 0 NZ Marist XV

NZ Heartland XV



  • Aaron Lahmert
  • Campbell Hart
  • Carl Carmichael
  • Glen McIntyre
  • James Goodger
  • Jeff Lepa
  • Josh Clark
  • Melikisua Kolinisa
  • Ralph Darling
  • Scott Cameron
  • Sione Holani
  • Troy Tauwhare
  • Brett Ranga
  • Craig Clare
  • Harry Lafituanai
  • James Lash
  • Kalavini Leatigaga
  • Lindsay Horrocks
  • Peni Nabainivalu
  • Seta Koroitamana
  • Timoci Serawalu
  • William Wright
  • Willie Paia'aua

>Previous Squads

Thames Valley